Campaign Awards

The following organizations and individuals were recognized for their outstanding commitment to community and leadership during the 2014 Community Impact Campaign.

2014 Award Criteria

Charlie Wampler, Jr. Community Builder Award
Personifying Charlie Wampler, Jr., founder of United Way of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County, this award is chosen by the Board of Directors and honors an individual or organization that embodies the mission of United Way: to improve people’s lives by mobilizing our community to create lasting change.

James Madison University


Community Impact
This award honors superior annual corporate investment in United Way’s Community Impact Fund, employee campaign best practices, and employee volunteerism.  Criteria considered for award are as follows:

  • Corporate Investment
  • Percentage of employees participating in the campaign
  • United Way Event sponsorship
  • Employee volunteerism with United Way



Skyline Society Leadership
The Skyline Society Leadership Awards recognize two corporations that demonstrate leadership at the Skyline Society level (gifts of $500 or more).  Companies will be awarded for meeting one of the following criteria:

  • Total number of Skyline Society members
  • Percentage of employees contributing at the Skyline Society level

RR Donnelley

Rockingham Group 


Dynamic Community
These awards recognize the companies or organizations for their contribution to the Community Impact Fund through:

  • Largest percent of employee participation

Harrisonburg Downtown Renaissance

BB&T Bank and Insurance Services


Inspiring Community
This award recognizes the company that has achieved the greatest increase in campaign contributions over the previous year.  This includes employee gifts, corporate gifts, and special events.

Farmers and Merchants Bank and VBS Mortgage

Rockingham Cooperative


May Supply


The first Campaign Volunteer of the Year
This award recognizes the 2014 campaign volunteer who:  

  • Utilized employee campaign best practices
  • Increased amount of investment made by his/her workplace
  • Increased number of employees who participate in the workplace campaign

Deb Van Horn
Rockingham Group

The second Campaign Volunteer of the Year recognizes a volunteer who demonstrates:

  • superior community outreach
  • service to others
  • personal commitment to advancing the LIVE UNITED mission

Ellie Holsopple


Collaborative Champion
This award recognizes the individual or organization that best exemplifies a collaborative approach to community development through the recognition of strengths and assets of others, identification of partnership opportunities, and formation of alliances that contribute to the greater good.

Friendship Industries